Takako Hikotani (Columbia), Yusaku Horiuchi (Dartmouth), Atsushi Tago (Waseda), “U.S. Military Should Not Be in My Backyard: A Case of Okinawa”

U.S. EDT: December 3 (Thu), 8 – 9 pm JST: December 4 (Fri), 10 – 11 am NOTE: Registration required! Link. Paper can be found here. Abstract: In an article recently published in the American Political Science Review, Allen et al. (2020) argue that citizens in U.S. allies are more likely to nurture favorable attitudes toward the […]

Kenneth Mori McElwain (University of Tokyo), Yuki Shiraito (University of Michigan), Guoer Liu (University of Michigan), “The Clash of Traditional Values: Attitudes toward a Male-line Monarchy under a Succession Crisis”

U.S. EST: March 4 (Thu), 8 – 9 pm JST: March 5 (Fri), 10 – 11 am NOTE: Registration required! Link. Paper can be found here. Presenters: Kenneth Mori McElwain (University of Tokyo), Yuki Shiraito (University of Michigan). Discussants: Margarita Estévez-Abe (Syracuse University), Cecilia Hyunjung Mo (University of California, Berkeley). Chair: Charles Crabtree (Dartmouth College).

Taishi Muraoka (Washington University in St. Louis), “How Do Voters Perceive Female Politicians’ Abilities to Distribute Pork?” (Pre-analysis Plan)

U.S. EDT: April 1 (Thu), 8 – 9 pm JST: April 2 (Fri), 9 – 10 am NOTE: Registration required! Link. Pre-analysis plan can be found here. Presenters: Taishi Muraoka (Washington University in St. Louis). Discussants: Nichole M. Bauer (Louisiana State University), Alexander Coppock (Yale University). Chair: Daniel M. Smith (Harvard University).